Instant messaging app WhatsApp is working on a new media feature. It said that the new feature is aimed at enhancing the quality of videos that are shared on the platform. The company has said that it will soon add options to allow users to choose the quality of the video before sending it to others. Users will be asked to select the video quality before uploading the content while sending it to another user. The new video upload quality feature is still in the works. The feature will become available once the product team gets desirable results during the testing. Allowing users to choose video quality before sharing is touted to be a very useful feature. The sender has an option to pick the right resolution.
The videos currently shared on WhatsApp are compressed. The heavy compression results in changing the original quality of the content. The feature is being tested by the company in the beta version for Android. Once rolled out, WhatsApp will add three options. The options are Auto, Best Quality, and Data Saver. In the Auto option, the app will automatically detect what is the best compression for videos. In the Best Quality mode, the app will allow the users to share the video in the best possible quality available. In the last Data Saver mode, WhatsApp will compress the videos before sending them. This will not take too much data. WhatsApp already offers a data saver option. This is, however, for calls. The feature is available for years.
WhatsApp recently launched a media feature. The new feature is called View Once. When a user sends photos and videos using the View Once feature, the content will be viewed only once. The feature will wipe photos and videos as soon as users see and dismiss them. The sender will be notified when the recipient opens the message and sees the content. The recipient will have no option to save the photo or video. But the recipient may take screenshots. In that case, WhatsApp will not notify the sender. There is no algorithm available in WhatsApp for screenshot detection. The send can, however, see who all have opened the message in the group by going to the Message Info option.